top of page

Walking on Sunsine

And Don't It Feel Good?


I was driving home from work, already tired and a bit frustrated, definitely not looking forward to the list of chores waiting for me, when instead of turning off the radio, I hit the scan button by mistake. Before I could even register what happened, the car was filled with one of my favorite songs of all times. And what do you do when this happens? You crank up the volume and sing at the top of your lungs—which is exactly what I did.


The song was Walking on Sunshine by Katrina and the Waves. Those of you of a certain age will remember it. But no matter if you don’t. We all know the pure joy of hearing one of our favorite songs play on the radio.


By the time I got home, I was in a much brighter mood. And I found myself singing


I’m walking on sunshine, whoa I’m walking on sunshine, whoa I’m walking on sunshine, whoa And don’t it feel good

and dancing around the house as I worked my way through my chores. And don’t it feel good became my refrain as each chore was done. WooHoo—that was fun. But I wanted to hear Katrina sing it one more time.


So, I did a search and played it on the new music streaming service I had recently subscribed to. Actually, I played it 3 more times. But each time I had to select it and start over. Bummer. So, I created a “Happy Music” playlist that would automatically loop. Katrina and the Waves were headliners on my new playlist. But what else could I add?


Talk about a slippery slope. Over the next week, thinking about songs that made me want to turn up the volume, sing along at the top of my lungs, and dance around the house, the songs and their memories, rooted in time and experiences in my life, came pouring out of me. With each new song I added, the sheer joy of singing and dancing along brightened my day. It was magic. And before I knew it, my “Happy Music” playlist had burgeoned to 23 songs.


It never fails, no matter where the play list starts, no matter what type of mood I am in, by the time the first song is finished playing, I am just loving life.


My “Happy Music” paylist has become my new favorite Happiness Habit!


What’s on your Happy Music playlist?


Robin


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page